top of page

Do I Have Lupus?

For a while now, I have been considering the possibility that I might have Lupus. Now, I know, with my aray of other issues, this might sound a bit like, "I want another disease or another illness." I can assure you, its not that.

Since being diagnosed with Graves Disease + Fibromyalgia + testing positive for Coeliac Disease + IBS + Anxiety disorder, I'm starting to get a long list of crappy illnesses together. However, I have been doing some research into Lupus which is also called Systemic Lupus Erythematous (SLE). Systemic means whole body, and looking at my list of current auto immune disorders, I think I qualify for the whole body scenario. Anxiety (head), Fibromyalgia (muscles and joints), Graves Disease (Thyroid and immune system) and IBS and Coeliac (Stomach and gut and intestinal problems)!.

I also had a blood test a few months ago which showed a positive result for ANA (Anti nuclear antibodies). When I asked the GP what this was, they said it could possibly be my Graves auto immune disease, but could it also be something else?

97 % of people with Lupus have a positive ANA test.

Protein in urine and Urine infections are also another common symptom of lupus. I constantly suffer from urine infections.

There are other issues that can be common with people with Lupus. All of which I have had.

  • An enlarged liver

  • Gallbladder issues (I had to have mine removed)

  • GERD - Gastroesophogeal reflux disorder

  • Hi. Pylori bacterial infections

  • IBS and stomach problems.

As you can see I think I tick quite a few boxes for possible Lupus. The full list of symptoms caused by lupus can be found here .

At my next doctors appointment I will be mentioning this to my GP and asking him to test me for Lupus fully.

Lupus UK logo

bottom of page